top of page

My Birth Story | Oils, Bathtubs, And Babies!


I have had some people asking me to share my experience with oils and pregnancy/delivery, so here it is!


I joined Young Living in 2013 during my second pregnancy and it has been completely life-changing. It has definitely impacted how I care for myself during pregnancy and my babies after they are born - especially since studies keep coming out about how things like Acetaminophen affect kids after their moms take it during pregnancy. (yikes!)

During this pregnancy, I was under the care of a midwife, with whom I discussed my level of care, labor/delivery goals, medical status, and nutritional needs. I have never been shy about firing providers who are willing to work with me, so this being my third pregnancy (and 6th overall prenatal provider), I made sure to vocalize my requests upfront. I was very thankful to have my midwife's full support.

This is the story of my third baby - a single birth, low-risk pregnancy with a natural delivery.

During pregnancy, I made sure to eat healthy foods, drink lots of water, and have regular bi-weekly visits to the chiropractor. Based on my previous pregnancies, I had two extra blood tests done to ensure that I was supporting my body appropriately - and this was done under the supervision of my midwife. I was determined to remain above the wellness line.


Two and a half weeks before delivery I had a prenatal massage and was adjusted by my chiropractor every other day to keep my spine aligned and hip/pelvis ready for delivery.

In previous births, my water has burst after contractions began. So when my 3-year-old daughter woke up at 3 am on the 16th of February, and I felt a “leak” as I walked her back to bed, I just assumed I had to go to the bathroom. Funny enough, my 6-year-old son also woke up at that same time and while I was talking to him, the baby moved… again with the leak!

So after revisiting the bathroom, I did some quick reading and realized that I was probably about to go into labor. The contractions hadn’t started yet, and I knew it could take hours, but why chance it. So I woke hubby, told him it was no big deal (I still was trying to convince myself I had just wet my pants), and I was going to take a shower to relax. He waited till I hopped in and went into "dad mode" and packed the truck. After the shower, I gathered my things and helped load up. The contractions had begun around 3:30 am – it really was happening! I made a quick capsule of Frankincense, Copaiba, and Idaho Balsam Fir, put some Joy over my heart, and also some Surrender and Release on my chest and forehead (I had been fearing labor in the last few weeks). I had read about labors that happened quickly, and I was in no rush to miss out on oiling!

Oils Ready to Travel!

On the trip to the birthing center, my contractions picked up as they should and we grabbed some food for hubby and the kids – I was super glad later that hubby got me some orange juice on that stop! During the ride, I did my best to remain relaxed, chatting with hubby and breathing through the contractions. My goal was BIG WIDE OPEN thoughts.


We arrived at the Birthing Center at around 6:35 am and my husband got the kids settled in and unpacked. The other birth room was still not cleaned up, so while I settled in for a “big bath," he got the kids unpacked on the couch in my room. I was busy setting up the diffuser (a step I had missed in the rush last delivery) and getting my oils of choice out. There was something therapeutic in that. The kids would eventually move next door, but it was wonderful having my whole family in the room while labor progressed. It really gave me a sense of what a home birth “away from home” could be like and helped me mentally center. The kids were quite impressed with how BIG the bathtub was!

As I unpacked, I set up my diffuser with Rose and Joy oils in it – my favorites. I wanted a nice soft scent to relax to. I also unpacked ALL of the following oils – Hope, Copaiba, Sacred Mountain, Helichrysum, Present Time, En-R-Gee, Deep Relief, Release, Surrender, Frankincense, Peace & Calming, Motivation, Valor, Rose, Stress Away, and Idaho Balsam Fir.


My Oils Used During the Birthing Process


Before climbing in the tub, I made another FULL capsule of Frank and one with half and half Copaiba/IBF. I reapplied Surrender and Release, Hope on my heart, Present Time on my forehead, En-R-Gee behind my ears, Deep Relief on my lower back, Motivation over my belly button, Valor on my neck, and Stress Away on my wrists. Hubby also gave me my NingXia packets. Can't remember if I had one or two.

So Thankful for That Orange Juice!

My memory during labor for the last two hours is a bit focused on delivery, but I would grab oils and apply or smell them as I remembered and felt able. When I couldn't focus on anything but breathing and relaxing, hubby made me a capsule of Frankincense to help me relax and he applied Peace & Calming and Valor to my neck (about 8 drops of each by his count ❤️)


Baby didn’t take long after that!

I did get out of the tub on my own accord at one point to go to the bathroom, but the last two hours of my 5 1/2 hour labor were in the nice warm tub – which was warmed up twice by the midwife. So nice to have someone else running your bath water! I remember looking at the clock at about 7:50 am and thinking “wow, we’ve been here about an hour… I wonder when I’ll transition…”


I think labor is such a crazy thing, you go through these waves of physical and emotional feelings. Pain and tension, some fear and excitement – it’s a whirlwind. I remember wanting to cry at one point and not being able to.... then expressing frustration and fear and then mentally resolving to focus on our new baby. Vocalizing my focus on being OPEN was huge. The oils were a huge part of my delivery process. Each contraction grew stronger. The amazing thing about birthing in the tub has been my ability to feel a change in contractions and have more of a heads-up. I kept talking myself into BIG OPEN THOUGHTS. I stayed as mobile as I could to help her move down. There’s no going back and no stopping labor… so letting go is incredible.


I asked my husband to pray for me and he told me later that he prayed that it would be “now” – prayers answered, I immediately felt the urge to push – 8:33 am according to the midwife’s notes. The nurse and midwife barely had time to engage as I screamed “I gotta PUSH!” I resolved myself and focused - supported IMMENSELY by the oils and encouragement of my husband. I was determined to do this 150%. Because not focusing would mean longer delivery. Push one – I focused all my energy and when I couldn’t give much more, I gave it more. Her head was completely out. The midwife requested another push, but I wasn’t quite ready. My body was ramping up. One more push and a rush. She was born – 8:37 am. It was surreal. I don’t think she even realized she was born at first. So quiet, calm, still attached, and nice and wet and warm. What a wonderful transition - water to water. They cut the cord and took her to rub her down and clear out her nose and mouth. She cried. Daddy got to hold her and watch her first open her eyes to her new world.


I climbed out and onto the bed and I immediately applied my post-delivery oils. Joy and Jasmine to my stomach and the placenta passed in the next 5 minutes – healthy and no calcifications. Once that passed, I took another capsule of Frank/Copaiba/IBF and realized - I finished off my Frankincense. So during the 6 hours of labor and post-delivery, I consumed a whole 5ml bottle of Frankincense! What a wonderful gift! I also took a capsule of Helichrysum.

Post-Delivery Oils


They had offered me Pitocin because I had had extra bleeding after my second birth 3 years earlier, but I was in no rush, and they were monitoring me. I knew I had supported healthy blood levels during this pregnancy with molasses tea and Rehemogen – my midwife had confirmed my “super happy” iron levels just one week earlier! (My reversal of pregnancy anemia is a story for another day). This experience had been completely intervention-free. I achieved my ideal birth!


This birth was somewhere around the midwife’s 490th delivery, but hubby told me that she and the nurse were super excited about my delivery. But why me? Well, it seems they do a lot of the prenatal care at the Birthing Center, but then deliver at the hospital. They do maybe 1-4 natural births at the center each month. How special!! I am so truly blessed to have my husband by my side for events like these. He’s my hero, my rock, and an amazing advocate for me. He spent the two weeks before delivery letting me rest, focusing on me and the kids, and ensuring that I could focus entirely on having our third child. I am so thankful and wouldn’t trade it for the world!


If my story inspired you, or you think it would help another mama, please share. We have a group of naturally minded mamas over at Gracefully-Imperfect Crunchy Mamas, and you're welcome to join us!


Also, I LOVE birth stories, so if you'd like to share yours in the comments, please do!!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page