top of page

How I Vacuum the House DAILY


Oh friend. If you had told me I was going to buy a robo vacuum, I would've told you you were crazy. Nope. Not in my house. I'M NOT THAT LAZY.

Just. Stop.


Let me say this. It is NOT about being lazy. Not one bit. It's all about a force multiplier. You've always wanted to be in two places at once right? Well, here's your chance.

Let's break down WHY I finally got one, because I think pride was a big problem here.

I thought "I don't NEED one. I'm doing just fine."

Says the mom who's freaking out at the end of the day because there's so much to do and no time to do it in.


Cool. So then there was the "I don't want NSA or the FBI or Russia listening into my house." And no, we don't have an Alexa or Google Home, but yes, we do have cell phones, iPads and laptops, so.... don't judge me. lol! But I really didn't want something wifi enabled that could be hacked into or something that mapped my house because in all honesty, that freaked me out a bit. So I settled. Maybe I could find one that didn't do that...



Then there was the cost. I had seen other brands in the stores going upwards of $500. Sheesh! To me, I may as well vacuum every day and pay myself! Or even pay the kids, because $500 is going to go a long way in the mommy bucks chart (more on that later).


I did my research and came with some options. The Eufy 30 rated well on most websites, but was marked down for a few things: it didn't connect to wifi, it didn't map the house, and it didn't connect to a phone. All wins in my book for internet privacy.


So then I bounced it of my husband.

The conversation probably went something like this:

Him: "you have the money?"

Me: "yup."

Him: "Well, it's worth a try, right? You've spent money on worse things."

Me: ...true... *shrug*


Well, that was around May 2019. We were living in an apartment at the time and I figured it was a good time to try out a robo vacuum. I'll tell you what... the first time I realized that it was cleaning the dust and hair from under the couch, I was excited. And then I emptied the canister. And I was sad I hadn't bought one before. Not even joking. Because in our old house, I was sweeping constantly trying to keep up with three kids (one of whom was learning to crawl - and those crawling kiddos find EVERYTHING), and now I realized that this sucker was getting nearly every little crumb I could see.


It vacuumed under the ottoman. Under the side table. Under the dresser. You get it. It was coming out with spiderwebs and dead bugs and all sorts of food crumbs. I was sold. Best purchase ever. LOL!


So then fast forward to our new house and I've got it set on a timer. 1pm. Because that's the toddler's nap time. Remember Pavlov's dog? You can train your kids too. Because at 1, any toys not picked up will be eaten by the vacuum - so there's a mad rush to clean the living room and everything on the floor. And then there's the napper... One day last week, the vacuum turned on and she jumped out of my lap saying, "oh! I'm late for nap!" And she went upstairs. Sometimes brilliance comes out of desperation.


So I got a second one. This time, I knew I wanted a Eufy. Their customer service and product quality had won me over. But I wasn't keen on spending another $200+... so the Eufy 11S caught my eye.


It doesn't have the border tape to cordon off areas, but the upstairs doesn't have any "off limit" areas, so that wasn't a concern. I was just amazed to see all the hair it picked up in the first few runs. Okay. Maybe the word I'm looking for is "grossed out." But anyway, now that both vacuums have collected the big things, every day they run is just maintenance. There's no crumbs, bugs or dust all over our floors anymore. And I like it.


Yes, I still sweep sometimes.

Yes, I mop (I more prefer to hand wash... so I'm weird that way)

And yes, I have to empty the dust canisters daily, but that's easy!


Any lastly, you will need replacement parts, but Eufy has brush guard replacements and replacement brushes and filters. So you can keep that vacuum running for a long time! I'll stop here, but I'll be back in the future with more articles about tips and tricks for your robo vacuum!


 

I may earn a small commission for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial, and/or link to any products or services from this website. Your purchase helps support my work in bringing you real information about natural health, products and holistic wellness. Thank you for your support!!

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page